Forums » Users » ds
Select date in calendarSelect date in calendar

Pages: 1
If I have a spherical field with color remapping on, how do I send this color data to a CentiLeo material?
 
ds
User  Posts: 8
Feb 16, 2021 04:29
Ah, fair enough, that makes sense. I suppose it is kind of crazy how many edge cases there are in developing a renderer.

I am following a tutorial and they start talking about it at this timestamp: https://youtu.be/hZOZZhoqyzQ?t=485

It seems like C4D's Field system exposes the color-remap information through a custom field that is then accessed by the external renderer. I have done a fair amount of development in UE4 (and am a web dev for work) so node based workflows are not new to me, but VFX is pretty new.

Is the codebase for CentiLeo all in C++ and then you have a build script with many build targets that builds it for a) each version of C4D and b) 3DSMax? I've also done a bit of GPU programming in the context of machine learning, but again, using GPUs for rendering is new.
If I have a spherical field with color remapping on, how do I send this color data to a CentiLeo material?
 
ds
User  Posts: 8
Feb 15, 2021 14:35
I have a spherical field with Color Remapping set. When I apply a CentiLeo material to it, it loses its color information. This makes sense, but I wonder how to pass this color information into the CentiLeo material?

In tutorials that are using Arnold there is a User Data RGB node and in C4D native it seems you add a texture of type MoGraph>ColorShader to color. I'm not seeing any nodes that look like candidates in CentiLeo.

Any suggestions?
Edited: ds - Feb 15, 2021 14:35
How to access plugin once loaded?
 
ds
User  Posts: 8
Feb 15, 2021 14:26
Naw, it's not as bad as it seems I think, that was an animation with 91 frames, so each frame was 13 seconds or something like that. I have been enjoying learning to use this renderer (while also learning C4D) and tweaking the various settings. I have a question regarding materials I will ask in a separate thread.
How to access plugin once loaded?
 
ds
User  Posts: 8
Feb 10, 2021 06:53
Updating the driver had no effect, but lowering the iterations from 32 to 1 seems to have increased the speed by a factor of 32 or so :D

Here is a screenshot: https://imgur.com/a/e5LJVXi

Thanks, I will play with this a bit, it does look quite a bit faster! For some reason I thought 32 was kind of the "suggested" iteration amount so I didn't play with this param at all.

Looks like it's going to be 21 minutes on GPU vs 1 hour 17 minutes on CPU.
How to access plugin once loaded?
 
ds
User  Posts: 8
Feb 10, 2021 06:15
Here is a screenshot of IPR with GPU info.
https://imgur.com/a/lMD2PJ2

Only 1 texture on the screen at this point. GPU is connected directly to the motherboard via PCI-E x16. Not doing any other kind of GPU heavy activity during the render. The hard drive is NVMe. Drivers are 457.51 -- I will check if newer ones are available.
How to access plugin once loaded?
 
ds
User  Posts: 8
Feb 10, 2021 05:58
Another test, I tried rendering a scene with a single sphere in the center and the physical renderer in C4D takes less than a second where CentiLeo takes 17 seconds.

Apologies if I am missing something obvious, I was very excited to use my new GPU to help with renders but now find myself learning quite a bit about GPU-based renderers, pretty interesting but also quite confusing.

[ just saw your post above when I clicked "post", I will gather that info and repost ]
Edited: ds - Feb 10, 2021 05:59
How to access plugin once loaded?
 
ds
User  Posts: 8
Feb 10, 2021 05:13
Thank you, I've gone ahead and updated to R23.110 and now it works!

I then did a test render of a scene to compare speeds. On i7 CPU, my render took 1 hour 17 minutes. Then I changed the cameras, lights, and materials to use versions provided by CentiLeo and re-rendered the scene with an RTX 3070. That render took over 7 hours!

I notice in the task manager under performance, I can see the GPU usage during the render. There are bars tracking utilization and I can see "3D" stays quite low (3-5%) while "Copy" stays at 100% except when it finishes rendering a frame and moves to the next. And only 4.5/8gb in GPU memory is being used. So all of this suggests to me there is I have a memory issue where any gains I might get from the faster computation on the GPU are negated by the time it takes to transfer data to the GPU.

So my question is, is there anything I can do to improve this situation? 62.1K triangles, 127 meshes, 11 materials, 2 lights.
How to access plugin once loaded?
 
ds
User  Posts: 8
Feb 9, 2021 14:59
Hello, thank you for this software. I believe I have loaded the plugin correctly as per instructions, but I can only see CentiLeo mentioned as a Node Space option. Where am I supposed to access the functionality for CentiLeo exactly? I don't see any mention of it in render settings and I don't see any kind of dropdown menu. I am on C4D R23.008 Any advice?
Pages: 1